"About a Son" soundtrack

From Pitchfork: "New music from Ben Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie, as well as unearthed audio excerpts of interviews with Nirvana's Kurt Cobain will appear on the soundtrack to the film About a Son, based on interviews with Cobain conducted by journalist/Come As You Are scribe Michael Azerrad.

Cobain's contemporaries Mudhoney, the Melvins, Mark Lanegan, and more, contribute previously released tracks, as do Cobain favorites like Iggy Pop, R.E.M., Half Japanese, David Bowie, and Leadbelly. The soundtrack is set for release September 11 from Barsuk.

Along with the soundtrack songs, the film features an original score by Ben Gibbard and producer Steve Fisk."

Here's the tracklisting:

01 Steve Fisk & Ben Gibbard - "Overture"
02 "Never Intended" [interview excerpt]
03 Arlo Guthrie - "Motorcycle Song"
04 The Melvins - "Eye Flys"
05 "Punk Rock" [interview excerpt]
06 Bad Brains - "Banned In D.C."
07 Creedence Clearwater Revival - "Up Around the Bend"
08 Half Japanese - "Put Some Sugar On It"
09 The Vaselines - "Son of a Gun"
10 Butthole Surfers - "Graveyard"
11 "Hardcore Was Dead" [interview excerpt]
12 Scratch Acid - "Owner's Lament"
13 Mudhoney - "Touch Me I'm Sick"
14 "Car Radio" [interview excerpt]
15 Iggy Pop - "The Passenger"
16 Leadbelly - "The Bourgeois Blues"
17 R.E.M. - "New Orleans Instrumental No. 1"
18 "The Limelight" [interview excerpt]
19 David Bowie - "The Man Who Sold The World"
20 Mark Lanegan - "Museum"
21 Ben Gibbard - "Indian Summer"

Story courtesy of Pitchfork. Also thanks to JF, Brian and Kevin.

Posted in NFC news section at on 06-14-2007 @ 8:32 AM (GMT).

Return to main page.